The National Honor Society (Margaret Deegan Chapter) is organized to create an enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote worthy leadership, and to encourage the development of character in all students of Sweet Grass County High School.

Students who have at least a 3.5 GPA after three semesters of high school and have participated in at least two activities are eligible for membership.

Students are selected by a faculty committee after consideration of all four qualifications (scholarship, service, leadership, and character).

Students may be removed from the chapter for failure to maintain a 3.5 GPA or failure to adhere to the chapter code of ethics.